Toll Tiwi Bombers AGM & Life Memberships

Club President Mick Burns announced at the Toll Tiwi Bombers Annual General Meeting the awarding of inaugural Life Memberships to retiring board member Cyril Kalippa (Rioli) and past President Allan McGill.

The Honorary Club Life Memberships are the first awarded in the clubs short 8 year history.

Burns said both men have been critical to firstly the creation of the club in 2005 as well as its on-going survival through tough financial times.

Cyril Kalippa, the patriarch of the nationally famous Rioli family which includes the 1982 Norm Smith Medallist the late Maurice Rioli, St Marys and South Fremantle Premiership player Sibby Rioli, current Toll Tiwi Bombers Coach and Nichols Medallist Willie, multi St Marys Premiership player Cyril and grandson the Hawthorn excitement machine Cyril (Junior) Rioli.

A foundation member of the Tiwi Land Council in 1988 and a persistent advocate for the self determination of commercial independance for the Tiwi people Cyril Kalippa realized a dream with the creation of the Toll Tiwi Bombers team.

Cyril Kalippa has been a key supporter promoting the role the Club plays in addressing and improving major social behaviour issues common to most remote Aboriginal communities led by the demoralizing Youth Suicide rates and understanding Responsible Alcohol Use with its effect on families.

Allan McGill was also part of the inaugural Toll Tiwi Bombers Board and accepted the Presidency role in 2007/08. He oversaw the Club playing in 5 finals series retiring on the back of the 2011/12 TIO Premiership.

Allan McGill was a former Milikapiti Council CEO and long term senior administrator with mainland councils in Katherine, Alice Springs and Darwin. He was also CEO of housing contractor Territory Alliance during his time as President providing employment and training opportunities for the Tiwi community.

With first hand experience of issues facing remote communities Allan McGill was critical to generating business and government recognition of the potential positive social benefits a stand alone Toll Tiwi Bombers team in the mainland NTFL community.

Both Cyril Kalippa and Alan McGill remain passionate supporters of the Toll Tiwi Bombers Club.

Toll Tiwi Bombers Board 2014/15

The newly appointed Toll Tiwi Bombers Football Club Board is Mick Burns (President), Lesley Tungatalum, Danny Munkara, Barry Puruntatameri, Bob Beadman, Brenton Toy and Cameron Hotton.

Melville Islander and former Toll Tiwi Bombers Coach Brenton Toy provides extraordinary football experience to the Board along with immediate past Toll Tiwi Coach Cameron Hotton who has now been on the Board for 5 years.

President Mick Burns expects an improved onfield performance reflecting the efforts of new Coach Willie Rioli Snr who will be joined by his Territory Thunder playing son Willie Junior and the natural improvement of the youth introduced in last seasons campaign.

No Comments

Comments are closed.

buy facebook likes